Team Philippines triumphs at Mathematics Without Borders

This is a press release from the Asian MathSci League Inc Philippines

It was such a remarkable finish for the eight Pinoy whiz kids who traveled 5,698 miles from Manila to be able to join the Mathematics Without Borders Tournament Finals held in Nessebar, Bulgaria last June 28 to July 1, 2019. Led by DOST-SEI Deputy Director Engr. Albert Mariño and the officials of the Asian MathSci League (AMSLI) Rechilda Villame and Dennis Dimaala, the team dominated the awards in the final event of the tournament participated by 1,192 students from Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Iran, Malta, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and the Philippines.

The following are the awards garnered by the Philippine Team dubbed as Magic 8:

Zion Skye Earl Carmelo C. Uy, Ateneo de Manila Grade School (Age Group 2)

Rohan Gerald L. Herrera, Ateneo de Manila Grade School (Age Group 2)

Harry Gerald L. Perez, De La Salle Lipa Integrated School (Age Group 2)

Renzterton R. Sibal, Lourdes School of Mandaluyong (Age Group 5)

Christian D. Gendrano, De La Salle Zobel School. (Age Group 6)

Mi Jung Pak, Philippine Science High School (Age Group 7)

Beatriz Lucia Rodriguez, Southville International School and Colleges (Age Grp 7)

John Henry T. Marquez, Philippine Science High School (Age Group 9)

With this remarkable feat, AMSLI President and Philippine Team Leader Rechilda Villame received the Mayor of Nessebar’s Teacher Award while Deputy Team Leader Dennis Dimaala received the MWB Organization’s Teacher Award.

Criteria for the Awards

Individual and Team Awards

The top 20% of the total number of the finalists from each age group receive gold, silver and bronze medals. The ranking is carried out according to the number of solved problems or points earned. In the case of an equal number of solved problems, the higher ranked participant/team is the one that has spent less time solving the problems.

Mathematics without Borders Cups

The ranking for the Mathematics without Borders Cups is determined based on the sum of the two best results of the three remote rounds (Autumn, Winter and Spring Rounds) and the doubled result of the final competition. The three most successful students from each age group and country are included in the ranking for the Tournament Cups. · The participants who hold first place in each age group receives the Mathematics without Borders Golden Cup, those who hold second place receives the Mathematics without Borders Silver Cup and those who hold third place receives the Mathematics without Borders Bronze Cup.

Math Star of the Tournament

Special prizes and the title Math Star of the Tournament is received by each country's most successful contestant.

Absolute Winner of the Tournament

The Mayor of Nessebar, a patron of the tournament, award the most successful contestant and the teacher with the biggest contribution to the tournament. –