More seats up for grabs in 10 LGUs

MANILA, Philippines (Updated) – There will be more elective posts this year in 3 provinces and 7 cities due to congressional districts created and municipalities converted before the 2013 polls.

This is due to the creation of 5 new districts and the conversion of 5 municipalities into cities before the May 13 elections.

Based on Commission on Elections (Comelec) Resolution 9526, voters will elect a total of 233 district representatives and 13,530 councilors this year.

That’s an additional 5 congressmen and 28 councilors from 2010.

The following districts were created:

The creation of new districts in Palawan, North Cotabato, and Bukidnon will not result in additional seats in the provincial board. Each of these provinces will still have 10 board members, apportioned to the new number of districts:

The new districts in Quezon City, however, will result in 12 new seats in the city council. There will now be 36 city councilors, with each district voting for 6 candidates. RA 6636 states that districts in Quezon City shall elect 6 councilors each.

Additional councilors will be elected in localities that were converted from municipalities into cities.

The following will each have two additional councilors, or a total of 10:

Biñan became a city 3 months before the 2010 elections. But ballots were already prepared then, so its voters had to elect the old number of councilors.

Republic Act 6636 states that municipalities shall elect 8 councilors, while cities shall elect 10 councilors.

It also states that in the case of cities with their own congressional districts, 12 councilors will be elected. The cities of Bacoor and Imus, both in Cavite, will then have 4 additional councilors each, or a total of 12 each.

Bacoor has been divided into two districts, via Republic Act 10160, so each district will elect 6 councilors. –