GALLERY: Who are Duterte's San Beda appointees to gov't?

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Not only is President Rodrigo Duterte the first Mindanaoan to be elected to the nation's top post, he is also the first graduate from San Beda College to achieve such a feat.

Duterte earned his law degree from the Benedictine-run institution in 1972.

Since his election, many of Duterte's fellow schoolmates and classmates have been appointed to key positions in his administration.

For instance, 4 secretaries in his Cabinet are from San Beda. In speeches, Duterte described them as bright and brilliant people.

His first two appointees to the Supreme Court and to the anti-graft court Sandiganbayan are also Bedans.

Here's a gallery of San Beda alumni appointed by President Duterte to various government posts. You can filter the list per category by clicking on the buttons below.

Show All Cabinet Executive branch Judiciary Other offices Duterte classmates (NWPC website) Federico Abuan Jr Assistant secretary, Department of Labor & Employment Law, 1977 (PCGG website) John Agbayani Commissioner, Presidential Commission on Good Government Law, 1978 (Rappler photo) Vitaliano Aguirre II Secretary, Department of Justice Law, 1971 (Twitter account) Adnan Alonto Ambassador to Saudi Arabia and Yemen Law, 1985 (SSS website) Arthur Amansec Commissioner, Social Security Commission Law, 1972 (Facebook account) Emilio Aquino Commissioner, Securities and Exchange Commission Law, 1992 (IACAT-News DOJ FB page) Erickson Balmes Undersecretary, Department of Justice Law, 2000 (SRA Facebook page) Roland Beltran Board member (miller's representative), Sugar Regulatory Administration Law, 1989 (SBLAA testimonial dinner program) Rudolfo Bernardez IV Representative, Luzon dairy cooperatives, National Dairy Authority Law, 1986-87 (PCGG website) Rey Bulay Commissioner, Presidential Commission on Good Government Law, 2001 (Añover Law website) Antonio Cablitas Presidential adviser on investments Law, 1972 (CICC Facebook page) Carlos Mayorico Caliwara Assistant secretary, Department of Information & Communications Technology Law, 1987 (Packaging Inst. of Phils. FB) Raul Canon Jr Assistant secretary, Department of Transportation Law, 2010 (Duterte Law '72 classmates website) Bienvenido Chy General manager and CEO, Philippine Retirement Authority Law, 1972 (PNOC website) Marvel Chiu Clavecilla Director, Philippine National Oil Company Law, 1972 (LeAnne Jazul/Rappler) Lanee Cui-David Deputy commissioner, Bureau of Internal Revenue Law, 1989-94 (BuCor website) Benjamin de los Santos Director general, Bureau of Corrections Law, 1978 (PICC Facebook page) Garry de Guzman Undersecretary, Department of Transportation Law, 1994 (SSS website) Emmanuel Dooc President and CEO, Social Security System Law, 1979 (SSS website) Gonzalo Duque Commissioner, Social Security Commission Law, 1976 (DILG Facebook page) Ricojudge Janvier Echiverri Assistant secretary, Department of the Interior and Local Government Philosophy (c/o SBCAA) Bernelito Fernandez Associate Justice, Sandiganbayan Law, 1980 (Insurance Comm. website) Dennis Funa Commissioner, Insurance Commission Law, 1990 (SBLAA testimonial dinner program) John Paul Ganalon General counsel, Governance Commission for GOCCs Law, 2007 (GenSan Coun. Bagonoc FB) Rogelio Garcia Director, Development Bank of the Philippines Law, 1971 (Bureau of Customs PH FB) Ma. Rhea Gregorio District collector, Port of Manila, Bureau of Customs Law, 2005 (JBC website) Toribio Ilao Jr Member, Judicial and Bar Council Law, 1972 (N.Samar Prov'l Board Google album) Teodoro Jumamil Director, Development Bank of the Philippines Law, 1978 (Vernise Tantuco/Rappler) Rudolf Philip Jurado Government Corporate Counsel Law, 1985-87 (Phil. Competition Comm. FB) Antonio Kho Jr Undersecretary, Department of Justice Law, 1991 (SBMA website) Tomas Lahom III Director, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority Law, 1985 (PAGCOR website) Alfredo C. Lim President and COO, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation Law, 1976 (Facebook) Abdullah Mamao Presidential adviser on OFWs Law, 1972 (DTI-EMB Facebook page) Vincent Philip Maronilla District collector, Manila International Container Port, Bureau of Customs Law, 1999-2000 (SC website) Samuel Martires Associate Justice, Supreme Court Law, 1975 Raymund Mecate Undersecretary, Department of Justice Law, 1992 (Richard Madelo/Presidential Photo) Salvador Medialdea Executive Secretary, Law, 1976 (LinkedIn account) Leah Merida-Quiambao Assistant secretary, Department of Transportation Law, 2006 (GAB website) Abraham Kahlil Mitra Chairman, Games and Amusement Board BSC-Management, 1991 (DOJ website) Reynante Orceo Undersecretary, Department of Justice Law, 1992-94 (Feria Law website) George Ortha II Assistant secretary, Department of Justice Law, 2002 (Treston Int'l College FB page) Lorifer Pahimna Associate Justice, Sandiganbayan Law, 1986 (Upsilon Sigma Phi FB page) Jesus Melchor Quitain Undersecretary, Office of the President Law, 1970 (LinkedIn account) John Carlo Gil Sadian Director IV, Office of the President Law, 2011 (Globe Telecom photo) Rodolfo Salalima Secretary, Department of Information & Communications Technology Law, 1973 (Rappler) Rene Sarmiento Member, Government Peace Negotiating Panel Political Science, 1974 (PMDC website) Alberto Sipaco Jr Chairman and CEO, Philippine Mining Development Corporation Law, 1971 (PDIC website) Reynaldo Tansioco Director, Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation Law, 1972 (SC website) Noel Tijam Associate Justice, Supreme Court Law, 1971 (Martin San Diego/Rappler) Arthur Tugade Secretary, Department of Transportation Law, 1971 (NTA Facebook page) Mel John Verzosa Deputy administrator, National Tobacco Administration Law, 2010

Some of the officials above are also members of the Lex Talionis Fraternitas, a fraternity founded at the San Beda College of Law in 1969. Duterte, Alberto Sipaco Jr, and Joel Babista established a chapter of Lex Talionis in Ateneo de Davao University in 1974.

Other Bedans in gov't

Two other Supreme Court associate justices, appointed by Duterte's predecessors, also graduated from San Beda: Justices Bienvenido Reyes and Jose Catral Mendoza. Both will retire this year – Reyes on July 6 and Mendoza on August 13.

According to the San Beda Law Alumni Association, Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Maria Theresa Mendoza-Arcega was likewise a San Beda alumna, but she was appointed by President Benigno Aquino III in January 2016.

Jose Arturo Garcia, also a Bedan, was appointed by Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Danilo Lim as OIC assistant general manager for planning.

Meanwhile, Bedans Arthel Caronongan (Law, 1986) and Alberto Regino Jr (Law, 1997) serve as the chiefs of staff to the chairman and president, respectively, of the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (Pagcor).

On the other hand, in Duterte's first year, a few Bedans were fired or have resigned due to controversy.

Duterte sacked ex-immigration deputy commissioners Al Argosino and Michael Robles for their alleged involvement in an extortion try on gaming tycoon Jack Lam.

Meanwhile, Transportation Undersecretary and Government Corporate Counsel Raoul Creencia reportedly resigned shortly after his name was included among those whom House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez said had "conflicts of interest" while serving in government. –

Editor's Note: In a previous version of this story, we included Reinier Paul Yebra in the gallery of Duterte appointees to government. He was added to the list by the San Beda Alumni office but we were informed that he has yet to be formally appointed. We have taken his name out for now.

Michael Bueza

Michael Bueza is a researcher and data curator under Rappler's Research Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.