PFF releases 24-man roster for AFC U23 qualifiers

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine Football Federation announced the complete list of players that will be part of the U23 national football team for the upcoming 2016 AFC U23 Championship qualifiers that will be held from March 25 to 31.

As per the post on the federation’s website on Friday, March 20, 24 players together with the coaching staff led by head coach James Fraser together with his assistant coach and former Azkal Leigh Gunn will make the trip to Thailand for the continental tournament.

The core of the U23 national team that will represent the country were also part of the team that wore the colors of our flag in the 2014 Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy in Brunei last August.

The players who were chosen are: Luiz Abadia, Arnel Amita, Jenno Aquino, Fitch Arboleda, Jorrel Aristorenas, Matthew Asong, Florencio Badelic, Charlie Beaton, Mark Besana, Jaime Cheng, Julian Clariño, John Ian De Castro, Curt Dizon, Shirmar Felongco, Danial Gadia, Joshua Grommen, John Kanayama, Nicholas O’donnel, Paolo Salenga, Francisco Santo, Shaun Soberano Richard Talaroc, Kennedy Uzoka and Ace Villanueva.

Consequently, the U23 Azkals are housed in Group G together with 2013 SEA Games champs Thailand, 2014 Asian Games silver medalist North Korea and Cambodia.

The team will start their journey to qualify for the Asian youth football championship in Qatar in 2016 with a match against North Korea on March 27 followed by a match versus their hosts Thailand on March 29 then the bout with Cambodia on March 31.

All games of the young booters of the Philippines will be held at the Rajamangala Stadium, the home pitch of the Thai national football team. –