EAC, LPU seek NCAA membership in Season 90

MANILA, Philippines - Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) and Lyceum of the Philippines University (LPU) seek to become regular National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) members when the league opens its 90th season on June 28 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

EAC is playing its fifth year as probationary member while Lyceum is on its second year. Their respective performances last season, not only in basketball, will be the basis of the NCAA Management Committee if the two schools will be accepted as regular members.

"We wish them [Generals and Pirates] well this season and may they consistently meet what is required to become regular members," said Management Committee chairman Paul Supan of Season 90 host Jose Rizal.

"Just like when they were elevated to probationary status from being guests, we'll be happy when the day to welcome them as regular members comes."

EAC and Lyceum hope to follow Arellano University’s path after the Chiefs earned regular membership status last year after improving their standing in almost all the sports played in the NCAA and meeting all the league requirements.

San Beda, the team that has the most number of NCAA men’s basketball crown with 18, is also gunning for its fifth straight title this season. 

The Mendiola-based Red Lions have won seven of the last eight seniors’ basketball championship since 2006.

The San Sebastian Golden Stags (1993 to 1997), and the Mapua Red Robins (1968 to 1972) and the Red Cubs (2009 to 2013) in the juniors’ division are the only teams to rule the league for five straight years.

The NCAA, meanwhile, added Saturday to its regular weekly game calendar where the league will be playing seven matches on its schedule.

"We've added a Saturday game so as to address the issue from last year when our season reached as long as November. This is basically to shorten the season a bit," said Supan.

Seniors’ matches every Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays will be from 12 noon and 2 p.m. while juniors’ games will be played at 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. Saturday’s schedule starts at 12:30 p.m.

College of Saint Benilde and University of Perpetual Help System Dalta are the other NCAA member schools. - Rappler.com