Romeo to be named Scoring Champion in 2015 PBA Press Corps Awards

MANILA, Philippines – Terrence Romeo’s offensive explosion and Alex Cabagnot’s return to his old deadly form will be aptly recognized in the annual PBA Press Corps (PBAPC) Awards Night on Wednesday, September 16 at the Century Park Hotel. 

Romeo is going to be honored as the Scoring Champion, while Cabagnot got the nod of league scribes as recipient of the William ‘Bogs’ Adornado Comeback Player of the Year award. 

The two makes up the list of awardees to be feted on this special night for their memorable performance in the season just past. 

The highlight of the affair which starts at 7 pm is the bestowing of the Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year and the Danny Floro Executive of the Year awards. 

Romeo, the prolific Globalport combo guard, led all players in scoring last season with 19.7 points per game to succeed Jayson Castro of Talk ‘N Text as the league’s new scoring leader.

The charismatic Gilas Pilipinas stalwart was the top local scorer in both the Commissioner’s Cup (20.8 ppg) and Governors' Cup (22.2 ppg), respectively. 

Cabagnot meanwhile, regained back his fiery form with the Beermen following his trade from Globalport midway in the Philippine Cup.

The veteran Fil-Am guard went on and became a vital piece in the Beermen winning two of the 3 conference titles at stake, including the Philippine Cup. 

Earlier named awardees in the two-hour celebration traditionally held by the PBAPC since 1993 were Rain or Shine’s Paul Lee and members of the All-Rookie team. 

Lee is the recipient of the PBAPC-Accel Order of Merit Award, while Pringle leads the 5-man All-Rookie squad also composed of Alaska’s Chris Banchero, Jake Pascual of Barako Bull, Matt Ganuelas Rosser of Talk ‘N Text and Lee’s Rain or Shine teammate Jericho Cruz. 

The rest of the awards to be given are Defensive Player of the Year and Mr. Quality Minutes (Sixth Man Award). 

League officials led by president and CEO Chito Salud and commissioner Chito Narvasa, along with members of the PBA Board headed by chairman Robert Non are expected to join the PBAPC under president Barry Pascua of Bandera during the two-hour long celebration. –