La Salle’s Mbala wins UAAP MVP award

MANILA, Philippines – La Salle big man Ben Mbala finished the UAAP elimination round with 92.43 statistical points and will be named the Season 79 MVP, it was revealed on Friday, November 18.

Mbala, who helped lead DLSU to a league-best 13-1 record, finished with averages of 20.6 points, 16.0 rebounds, 2.4 blocks, 1.4 steals, and 1.2 assists a game in his first season as a Green Archer.

Coming in second in the MVP race was Papi Sarr of Adamson, who compiled 69.86 SPs. Jeron Teng, Mbala’s La Salle teammate, is third with 57.33 SPs.

Rounding off the top 5 were Paul Desiderio of UP with 55.14 SPs and FEU’s Raymar Jose with 54.64 SPs.

Adamson freshman Jerrick Ahanmisi will win the Rookie of the Year after coming in 11th overall in the statistical race with 44.50 points.

La Salle will face Adamson in the Final Four, while Ateneo will take on FEU. The Green Archers and Blue Eagles have twice-to-beat advantage. –